Author Topic: Intro and a couple questions  (Read 5287 times)

Offline basmntdweller

• The Profile Brotherhood
Intro and a couple questions
« on: July 26, 2011, 03:06:43 PM »
Hey friends,
I just picked up a new '09 last friday. It was an E-bay deal that went very well except for the long ass drive to go pick it up!
I have been riding a 650 V-Strom for the last 3 years along with an old DR-350 for playing in the dirt. I was wanting something a bit more comfy and with a lot more excitement in the throttle. So far, the comfy part has been a bit of a fail compared to my V. I'll do the bar risers and maybe the wedges in a few weeks. I have a set of Grip Puppies already on the way. I am following the manuals break-in recommendations for the most part. I accidentally revved over the 4k range once for just a second or two. Who am I kidding, it was on purpose!!!

So far, my two biggest gripes are the mirrors and the inferno of heat blasting my legs. I know a lot of guys here will slam me for it, but from time to time, I like to ride in t-shirt and shorts. These trips are generally short ones like post office or grab a gallon of milk at the grocery store. It has never been an issue on my V but this Connie is hot! I rode to the FedEx store to send some of my paperwork back to the dealer for processing my title. It was pretty hot out so I expected a little heat but half the time I had to ride with my legs out away from the bike to keep from burning them. At least that is the way it was feeling. I just came in from about a 30 mile ride with long pants and my legs were still cooking pretty good. Any fixes for this?
As far as the mirrors go, I just can't see anything directly behind me. Side vision is fine although it will take a while to get used to looking down that low to see in the mirrors. Has anyone added mirrors to the bars and not ended up looking hideous?