Author Topic: Thinking of buying used concours, got some questions  (Read 1066 times)

Offline fjod

Thinking of buying used concours, got some questions
« on: May 17, 2021, 01:13:10 AM »
Hello forum members! Sorry for my english in advance.

I am from Russia, I think I'm ready to start saving money for next bike, hopefully I will have enough on the next august-september. I have 4 years of experience riding FZ6, it is also sport-touring bike; I liked riding it so next one should be from same category, but more about tourism than sport. So I found several suitable models and GTR looks better than others. I have several questions about techinical problems that I managed to google around russian internet community and youtube videos, but I want to know if they are present outside of Russia too :D

(ordered as they are concern me from most at the top)
1. Air filter is "loose" in the case, or the case is "loose" in it's place and sand can go around filter and get inside engine. Guy in the video talked about some custom air filter gasket and recommended looking at air intake to check if there is sand on it.
2. Cylinder cover gasket leaks oil and has to be frequently replaced. I read about using special copper washers and that if you change big gasket, you also have to change several smaller gaskets; and it leaks on regular basis.
3. Timing chain tensioner is operated not by spring; but by oil pressure. I googled a lot about it, so what is the result solution? Change it to spring-based one (whats the pros/cons)? Do not care about sound on engine start? Is there any  fixed mileage when timing chain should be checked/changed? Shoud I replace timing chain guides too? Could you link example video with sound of "chain needs to be changed" ?