Author Topic: Major electronics and clutch failure  (Read 8113 times)

Offline taras

Major electronics and clutch failure
« on: September 07, 2016, 09:40:44 AM »
Hi everyone, I have made quite a long (3000 miles) trip through south of Russia recently and encountered two failures.
Just sharing experience, maybe someone could use it. My bike, the 40k miles Concours, 2009ABS.
Before I even left my home city of Moscow, I had an electronics faliure, I still cant explain, however it happened once and never came up again.
After a short stop I started riding and noticed some weird stuff on my dashboard. Both turning indicators where shining half power and the headlights were not working. Everything else was running perfect, no errors, no strange behavior. I stopped and tried to turn of the bike, and that was when the nightmare begun, all the lights where flashing sporadically and even the windshield was twitching up and down about an inch. After about 10 seconds, the bike eventually shut down, after I turned it back on, the engine could start, however lamps where still shining and flashing in a random order. Shining and blinking like a Christmas tree I made my way back to the garage, where I took off all the plastic and started unplugging and plugging back all the fuses, relays etc. Eventually, everything got fine, but I could not figure out what was the exact reason for this. This was the strangest thing I ever had with any bike.