Author Topic: K&N air filter .... waste of $$'s ??  (Read 11100 times)

Offline Bagger

K&N air filter .... waste of $$'s ??
« on: May 26, 2011, 05:07:40 PM »
I'm planning a reFlash of my ECU on my 2010 C14.  While looking at some of the posts regarding this, I see that several folks have added K&N air filters to the mix (among other mods).

I've used K&N filters before on my Harleys years ago (carbureted bikes) mostly because they were easy to get at on HDs and some people said they helped 'breathing'.

But, the C14 is more difficult to get at the air filter, and more importantly ... I wonder if there is any advantage to having a $65 filter in the C14 rather than the oem filter (don't know what the cost of oem is)?

Am I just wasting my money hooking up a K&N with a slip on/mid pipe and a reFlash?

Thanx.
"I'm not a vigilante ... I'm just an undocumented border patrol agent."

Offline Jeremy Mitchell

• COG#9899
Re: K&N air filter .... waste of $$'s ??
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 05:43:14 PM »
I have a K&N and I don't believe it is a waste of money, not due to the possible extra 1-2 hp but the convenience of being able to clean it instead of replacing a stock filter.  There are quite a few people that say the stock filter will do a better job at protecting the motor, but I have never had a problem with a K&N in the 7 or 8 vehicles that I have used them in.
Keeping the economy going, one tank of fuel and two tires at a time.

Offline att2008vn

• C14 2010 ABS
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 06:02:34 PM »
+1

I dont know how it is in your places, i have to do the cleaning every 3-4,000 miles.

at

Offline Rockstar

• Don't call em bikers until you've seen them ride
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 06:31:37 PM »
I've always had good luck with K&N
GL1800 my 2 up ride ZG1000 my alone time ride
Ninja EX 500 stolen by my son ride
Honda CRF off road ride
Scooter go get the mail ride

Offline Bagger

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 07:11:43 PM »