Author Topic: Just curious: Anyone have a handle on why the C14 is harder on the front tire?  (Read 1271 times)

Offline Charliedog

I've been riding for almost 50 years, owned almost 50 bikes-some for a few months, others a few years, and I've never had a cycle that wore out the front tire so much quicker than the rear.  Somewhere between 2:1 and 3:2.  I'm trying to wrap my mind around that.

I texted a good friend who owned a small cycle shop for fifteen years before retiring.  He sold and installed hundreds of tires and texted me he made money on C14 front tires.  When I texted him why, he replied the bike 'loads' the front tire so much. He said some C14 owners were over inflating the front tires above the max on the tires' sidewalls.  That doesn't sound safe.

I'm open to ideas and suggestions (within financial reason), since I hope to be riding the bike a few more years.

TIA

CharlieDog
Bristol, TN

Offline Pilgrim

• '12 Black

It weighs 700 lbs.    Your riding style.   The roads you drive.   My front tires also wear out before the rears.   

Offline maxtog

• Elite Member
  • 2011 Silver
Like Pilgrim said- lots of factors- heavy, roads, riding style, 1 or 2 up, how hard you brake, type of tire, inflation.

My fronts also wear more than the rears, but only by about maybe 20%.  So by the time I need a front, I might as well replace the rear, too.  I get good tire life.  First set of PR4's 18,020 miles, last set of PR4's 16,031 miles (cut short due to a large nail in rear that I had to emergency plug and I wasn't going to push it).

I try to always keep both at exactly 42psi.