Author Topic: The elusive carburetion "Sweet Spot"  (Read 3633 times)

Offline jim snyder

• Arena
  • I'm married but my girlfriends name is Connie
The elusive carburetion "Sweet Spot"
« on: April 16, 2012, 02:50:51 PM »
The quest for the carburetion sweet spot is something Steve from Florida has mentioned here before but I wanted to elaborate on it a bit more after finally finding it this past week. The "Sweet Spot" we speak of is
that perfect combination of fuel, air, exhaust, and the resulting throttle response that it provides. After installing Steve's jet kit I began the search for the perfect amount of air flow into the airbox. As many of you have discovered this can be frustrating at times. And when Steve tells you that little adjustments can be big, LISTEN TO HIM. I have been fooling around with the airbox opening for the past 6 months looking for that perfect amount of air.  Last week I found that perfect amount of airbox opening. Just before this past weekends Wildflower ride I violated my own rule of tearing something apart the day before a ride, but when you are so close to something like this its hard to just let it set. I built a completely new intake snout to accomidate the new found airflow. Long story short, the sweet spot has been found. The ride saturday was awesome. Throttle response was crisp, roll ons were great, and the best part was the 48 mpg mileage figure I discovered after the first fill up, and I am running Steve's "power" jet kit. My point of this post is to say that the sweet spot is out there, and sometimes its hard to find, but keep looking because it "is" out there. And when you find it the rewards are well "sweet".
"Somedays you're the windshield, and somedays you're the bug"
"An armed citizen is a patriot, and unarmed citizen is a victim"

http://community.webshots.com/user/kawadude

Offline Sparkie

Re: The elusive carburetion "Sweet Spot"
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 05:36:44 PM »