Author Topic: Carb Removal and Installation  (Read 4736 times)

Offline Summit670

Carb Removal and Installation
« on: July 08, 2012, 01:05:24 PM »
Just thought I'd share this since I just put my carbs back in this morning.

To remove and install carbs, I find it much easier to unhook the throttle cables at the handlebar.  I'm no expert but 2 times I removed the carbs by removing the cables at the carbs and this time I did it from the bars and found it much easier.  This has been mentioned before so I can't claim the discovery.  Why a 3rd time - because I was stupid and didn't replace the coolant log o-rings even though I suspected a leak I was in a hurry to see how my carbs would work.  Patience would have been great to have then.

To install the carbs, yes I rolled back the airbox boots and secured with zip ties.  IN ADDITION, I also placed and old aluminum license plate from my truck between the boots and carbs, and with the cables left intact on the carbs, I got the carbs close, routed the cables thru, and the whole carb bank virtually slid right thru.  They slid thru and the carb throats were higher than the manifold boots.

Once they were lined up vertically, I was able to apply rearward pressure against the license plate with the plate preventing the rear of carbs from catching on the boots or zip ties, and worked the carbs down into position.  The license plate then slid right out.  Slid the zips off the boots and the boots rolled right onto the carbs perfectly.

Recommendation - unhooking cables at throttle grip and using a thin plate or piece of plastic to keep the rear of carbs from catching on boots.
Arctic Cat M8 163 rules

Sleds, Dirt Bikes, ATV's, Street Bikes, Mountain Bikes.  Heck, I guess if it has handlebars I'll give it a try.

Offline Steve in Sunny Fla

• Shoodaben Engineering
Re: Carb Removal and Installation
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 03:31:13 PM »