Author Topic: Car one cylinder misfire  (Read 1234 times)

Offline DC Concours

• Arena
  • 2001 Concours, ~35K miles
Car one cylinder misfire
« on: January 19, 2022, 11:48:05 AM »
There are many of you that know engines far more than I ever will. I have a question for you guys...can driving a car that is misfiring on one cylinder damage the cylinder or the engine? The car is 25 years old, inline 6 and I suspect just needs fuel lines cleaned and Spark plugs replaced. I just won't have time to get to it till next week. Plugs last changed 10 yrs ago. But only driven about 30k since.

P0304 code. Twice cleared. Twice back.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2022, 05:31:18 PM by DC Concours »

Offline MrPepsi

Re: Car one cylinder misfire
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2022, 01:47:57 PM »
I believe it can cause issue with excess fuel in the cylinder. I think a mechanic would tell you not to drive it. I am not a mechanic though. Depends on how much you value the vehicle I guess.
Brent Johnson 
2009 C-14 "Razzi"

Offline MrPepsi

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2022, 01:48:50 PM »
Brent Johnson 
2009 C-14 "Razzi"

Offline m in sc

• Polluting Rockhill with 2 strokes for decades.
    • 2 stroke world
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2022, 04:37:49 PM »
you need to determine the cause. if its a port injected  motor, might be a bad injector. If it has coil on plug coils, might be a coil. could be a wire. but the days of plugs and 'clearing fuel lines' on anything fuel injected are pretty much over as a cure. I mean, its possible but rare and extremely unlikely.. if its smoking or the oil looks milky can be a head gasket.  could be a broken ring in the cyl. all sorts of causes are possible, but you need to get a legit mechanic to look at it. Not Meineke or AutoZone.  good luck w it.

what make of car and how many miles?
I break and fix stuff.  No more concours's in the stables. see you guys around...

Offline DC Concours

• Arena
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2022, 06:17:33 PM »