Author Topic: Tar snakes!  (Read 8060 times)

Offline clogan

Tar snakes!
« on: April 19, 2015, 06:49:50 PM »
Can somebody tell me where these things come from!!!!
Seems like they just spontaneously pop up over night! I can't believe a highway crewman trails along on foot dripping tar out of a drip can...Or do they?

I'm convinced that tar snakes are sort of like crop circles; they just randomly appear out of nowhere.
Anybody ever see them being formed? Got pics? I've been driving for almost 50 years, and have never happened upon a tar snake being created.

Anyhow, it's the time of year when we need to start being very careful.  Those things can cause a get off in no time flat.
2010 Neptune blue C14
2009 blue KLR
2013 DRZ400

Offline twowheeladdict

Re: Tar snakes!
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2015, 06:56:06 PM »
Must be a northern thing. 

I have seen them being created.  They are supposed to have some grit in there, but I think they cut costs or are just lazy.
My Concours Travels:
2014 New England Tour http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=17336.msg212077#msg212077

Offline 2talltim

• 2008 C14
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2015, 07:01:52 PM »
Here are them critters at work.

Offline gPink

• Arena
  • MMVIII C XIV
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2015, 07:13:08 PM »
Looks like government work to me. Probably two in the truck, driver and spotter. The three on the road. And two in the chase vehicle, driver and cameraman. All to make life miserable for others.  8)

Offline tomp

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2015, 07:23:06 PM »
They are all over Texas.  During the summer, they have to be as dangerous as black ice is in the winters up north.  I have set more than one bike sideways after coming into contact with them in sweepers.  Dodging them in the curves is almost like a solemn event.  My  worst time was on a KLR650, WITH DIRT TIRES.  Absolutely no grip... Scary.  tp
Living in the Texas Coast...

Offline UhOh

« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2015, 07:36:17 PM »