Author Topic: Metric Century on Bicycle  (Read 1192 times)

Offline W14

Metric Century on Bicycle
« on: March 20, 2012, 09:51:25 AM »
I will turn 60 this week. Who knew how good sixty would feel!  Eight years ago, I started riding a bicycle for pleasure and health reasons. One of my goals back then was to be riding the bicycle when I turned sixty, and my plans were to do sixty miles (a metric century is 62 miles) on my birthday. Sixty miles may seem like a lot for those who have not ridden a bicycle since childhood but it is a goal for weekend bicycling enthusiasts. The furthest I have ridden is 50 miles in one day…boy did that hurt.

Time flies and life happens.  For me, a health crisis prevented me from bicycling regularly and a mid-life crisis caused me to want to work on my bucket list sooner rather than later, enters the C-14, why pedal when you can twist the throttle.

Anyway, I have a new plan. I am going to do sixty miles on the bicycle but it is going to be in increments during the week rather than all in one day.

Did about 12.5 miles this morning and felt good, 47.5 miles left.

Ride On!

Offline ManWorkinghere

• 2001 Kawasaki Concours ZG1000A
Re: Metric Century on Bicycle
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2012, 01:45:07 PM »
Happy Birthday! 

I hope the remaining miles are all downhill and toward home....
after 2012 Rallybefore 2012 RallyCOG#9292:-)

Offline W14

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 04:57:49 PM »
Thanks, hope to get in another 10-15 miles tomorrow, mix of hills and flat land

Offline soyjim

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2012, 11:38:09 PM »
http://mostateparks.com/2012-katy-trail-ride

The above ride is something you might enjoy and is good motivation.
There are rides like this all over the country.
Most of the people on the ride are middle age and above.

Offline W14

« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2012, 08:57:10 AM »
Soyjim,