Author Topic: battery test  (Read 2015 times)

Offline roadie

• RIP:2009 ABS....Welcome 2015 Black
battery test
« on: June 23, 2014, 05:30:32 AM »
Hey fellas, been absent for a minute.  Crohn's kicked my tail for about a year so no riding...I have been keeping busy though...As a novice mechanic I bit the bullet and have been on an arduous adventure of rebuilding my Powerstroke 6.0 engine.  Almost as fun as my Valve Job adventure on the Connie :-).  Funny to think that the engine weighs almost twice that of my Connie.  Took her out, and down all the way to the block.  block, heads, machined, ARP studs, new oil cooler, EGR, lots of OEM updates, new sensors, FICM update.  Turbo rebuild, starter,  If it has a screw its been removed, and rebuilt.  Learned a lot.  But not enough about batteries....Connie's been so neglected, that the battery was toast this morning...haven't ridden much in months, as my buddy loaned me an old TownCar while by Truck's been down.  Enough of 4-wheels and back to 2-wheels:

So, Im not too sharp on how to test batteries, but did slap my meter on it, zip, plugged in trickle for 3 hours, and afterwards registered 12.4V on meter, and 12 on bike,  Bike slams hard to 14v as soon as its moving.  My question is, should there be another test I should be running to validate health?  Cold cranking amps comes to mind as I'm familiar with that term as it relates to my 2 big arse Truck batteries.  Batteries about 5 years old now.

Will
Will

Offline gPink

• Arena
  • MMVIII C XIV
Re: battery test
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2014, 05:50:32 AM »
Good to see you back Will. Replace the battery.

Offline roadie

• RIP:2009 ABS....Welcome 2015 Black
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2014, 06:06:30 AM »
Good to see you back Will. Replace the battery.

Thanks Gpink

who is the community favorite right now for such purchases?  Ron Ayers for batteries?  I'm quite out of the loop on new developments for C14.
Will

Offline gPink

• Arena
  • MMVIII C XIV