Author Topic: Homemade trailer hitch for C14  (Read 12583 times)

Son of Pappy

Re: Homemade trailer hitch for C14
« Reply #20 on: February 16, 2012, 06:38:16 PM »
The answer may be as simple as the design, how about a pair of mini shocks or short, stout springs tying the main hoop and upper brackets?  Didn't they use them on seats for hard tails?  Slot the hoop, add a through connector to the bracket for horizontal rigidity and allow for the vertical travel.  I'm not an engineer, but I did sleep on the mountain last night ;)

Offline just gone

• COG#9712 '10 ABS
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2012, 07:04:36 PM »
Back to the drawing board.

Here is a link to one from the other board, it's not clear to me how the upper part is attached
to the receiver but I guess one can assume it just curves around and down the under side of the fender.
The horizontal loads seem easy to address, it's the vertical load that has me a bit skeptical.  Especially
if one is planning two up with a trailer. The subframe seems to be able to carry a passenger and three loaded
bags OK, but a bridge it ain't.

Here is a picture of another one that I stole/borrowed from somewhere (?,Here?,sorry don't know where I got it.)

Offline The Pope

• COG #9994 (NC AAD)
« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2012, 03:54:24 AM »
^ CAR TIRE!!!!!! (2nd photo)  :-X
The Pope
2011 C-14 Atomic Silver...... aka ImprovedSilverDammIt.

"The Universe is a contest between engineers making things idiot-proof and God making bigger idiots. So far, God is winning by a wide margin." Unknown author, well I don't know who said it.

MGvalerio

« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2012, 07:22:09 AM »
Guardando le 2 soluzioni ..per gancio traino ..entrambi mi sembrano molto pericolose perché subiscono il molleggio della sospensione Tetra Lever. ::)
Looking for the 2 solutions .. towbar .. both seem very dangerous because they suffer the suspension of the suspension Tetra Lever. ::)

MGvalerio. :)

Offline The Pope

• COG #9994 (NC AAD)