Author Topic: Buying a Concours 14  (Read 9251 times)

Offline 84Sabre

Buying a Concours 14
« on: March 15, 2016, 06:28:38 AM »
Hi everyone. I've been a cruiser rider since I started riding. About a year and a half ago, I had an ST1100. I totalled it due to brake failure (only owned it for a few days and the previous owner must have botched the front brakes.) After a few months, I bought a Royal Star 1300.

Recently, I started scraping more and more around turns. It's mostly footpegs, but I'm starting to scrape the crash bars as well. Time to return to Sport-Touring.

I test drove a 2010 Kawasaki Concours14. Didn't want to bring it back to the dealer and just keep riding it. I found my motorcycle.

What I need from you all is to know what to look for. The bike is clean with 9k miles, side bag has a small leak, but everything else looks nice. What's a normal sound for these engines? I'm used to V-Twins and my 4 cyl on my Royal Star, but I'm not used to the sounds of the Concours.

Is it also normal for the engine to make clicking noises? I just want to be sure. My luck with buying used motorcycles is rather poor, so if I'm putting 8k into a motorcycle, I would like to kinda know what to look for.

Thanks in advance for any help. Regardless of whether I get this Connie or a different 2010+, I'm getting a Connie regardless.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2016, 07:37:56 AM by 84Sabre »

Offline Deziner

• Arena
  • Phoenix
Re: Buying a Concours 14
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2016, 07:11:15 AM »
Welcome to the forum!

A little noisey at start up, till the oil pressure gets to the timing chain tensioner. Normal stuff.

You're gonna LOVE it!
God does not subtract from a man's life the number of hours spent riding a motorcycle

2008 C14, Muzzy exhaust, PCV, heated grips, Sergeant seat, PR4 GTs, Donovan headlight mod, Ronnies highway pegs, Cox rad guard, "The Big Rack", Grip Puppies, XM, many more made by me parts to come.....

Offline 84Sabre