Author Topic: Good brake pad change video out there?  (Read 118421 times)

wcgreen

Good brake pad change video out there?
« on: February 28, 2016, 08:37:49 AM »
I would love to just buy Fred's set, and will in the fall, but funds for grad school are going to be super tight till August... like $100 extra a month after pinching every penny.  Any decent vids on youtube for changing the pads out on the C14 that you have seen?  Good for a 100% newbie doing his first change?  Changed front tire this weekend, but told I need brakes... gonna try to inspect that right front site today... I have NEVER done brakes before, and will have to purchase torque wrench and tools, but need to find what folks consider a good video on C14 brakes.  I don't even have a garage... just parking deck, but I need to do this myself.  Bike only has 14k on it, so I was surprised to hear it needs pads and I know the dealer here will want a fortune.
Billy
« Last Edit: February 28, 2016, 10:36:39 AM by wcgreen »

Offline clogan

Re: Good brake pad change video out there?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2016, 07:59:11 PM »
Very easy job...five minutes, tops. You can probably find a YouTube on it. But if you have never changed brakes on anything automotive, well maybe it would seem a bit daunting. Do you have a riding buddy who can guide you? I have used EBC pads, and like them. OEM pads also seem highly regarded. After changing your pads, you will want to "bed" tem, by making a series do hard stops...from twenty to zero, then thirty mph, then forty a few times. After several of these hard stops, the new pads will have become bedded, or acclimated to your rotors.

14,000 miles might be a bit earlier than typical for new frot pads, but not much. I'd suspect rear pads to be OK, but you should check to be sure. My original equipment rears are still good at 30,000.

Be sure to buy quality hex head sockets. Your work will be go better.
2010 Neptune blue C14
2009 blue KLR
2013 DRZ400

Offline jimmymac

• Arena