Author Topic: C14 Engine in a CAR!  (Read 7272 times)

Offline theMucker

C14 Engine in a CAR!
« on: April 06, 2014, 04:19:56 AM »
Hi Guys!
Let me introduce myself... I'm a rider since 1971. I've had more Kawasakis than other brands and currently have a 1700 Vulcan Voyager (next to my Yamaha Roadliner). Being a life time professional mechanic/machinist I can't leave anything stock. I've built many bikes for more power and speed. Even my big touring bike has had the engine out and apart.
NOW I'm doing something I've never done before. I've got a '08 C14 engine (thanks to eBay and Steeles Cycles in CO) and it's getting stuffed into a CAR. Not a big car... a 1972 Honda Z600 Coupe "micro-car". It's a 1200 pound car that had an air cooled, 2 cylinder, 600cc, 37 HP engine. So it's gonna be a bit faster when the project is done.
I chose the C14 engine  because it's a potent, big displacement, multi-cylinder beast. And the variable cam timing should boost mid-range over what the ZX14 has. That's useful when the engine is powering a vehicle heavier than a motorcycle.
I've already made modifications to the output bevel drive to run a drive shaft to the car's back wheels (it WAS front wheel drive) and now I'm fabricating the sub-frame that will hold the engine and front suspension.
But I've seen posts about using the ZX14's bigger injector bodies. More power is always a GOOD thing. Has anyone got dynamometer results showing what the bigger injectors give, over the stock engine? Does it result in a drop in torque?
What other mods to the engine (other than exhaust mods, which aren't relevant to my project) have you guys done to make more HP & torque? More compression? Cams? Cylinder head porting? Power Commander? I'd really appreciate HP & torque figures to go with those mods.
Thanks!

Offline Charlie747

Re: C14 Engine in a CAR!
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2014, 04:46:24 AM »