Author Topic: Bafflectomy???  (Read 6925 times)

Offline tweeter55

• Arena
  • Ride Hard...Ride Safe
Bafflectomy???
« on: February 07, 2012, 11:30:22 AM »
OK...I'll admit it. I'm a newbie. That being said, are there any advantages/disadvantages to doing it? Besides raising the ire of neighbors/constables in the area. Detectable HP/torque/mpg gains?
Over the years:       1972 Harley Rapido
1972 Suzuki T350R  1979 BMW R100RT
1987 Honda Helix.    2006 Kawasaki Concours

Offline Mettler1

Re: Bafflectomy???
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 12:29:42 PM »
  Been done many times. Does not increase torque, power, gas mileage or much of anything other than a little more noise. If that makes you happy have a shot at it.

Read this by the man who knows.

http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=175.msg1225#msg1225
'94 Concours 112,000 miles-- 7th gear,2MM,KB fork brace,Over flowtubes,Stick coils,Tcro shifter,GPS,Torque cams,SPOOKFAK,block off plates, SS brake & clutch lines,KB risers, FENDA EXTENDA, emulators,etc

Offline turbojoe78

• Arena
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 03:11:51 PM »
According to past threads, Dyno runs, and the link you listed, it will increase HP by 2 to 3 HP and only increase sound by a little.
2014 ZG1400 Concours COG memb# 8645

Offline Daytona_Mike

• Arena
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 04:46:26 PM »
  Been done many times. Does not increase torque, power, gas mileage or much of anything other than a little more noise. If that makes you happy have a shot at it.

Read this by the man who knows.

http://www.zggtr.org/index.php?topic=175.msg1225#msg1225

Then why does  the 'Man who Knows' say this (I read this in the  link you posted):

Mufflers - Used Cobras, Holeshots, Staintunes. Prices will range from a couple hundred used to 600 for the holeshots. Generally only good for 2-3 hp at best, and some noise. You'll accomplish the same thing by just drilling or punching out the baffle in your stock mufflers.