Author Topic: Warm weather starting issue  (Read 567 times)

Offline Zachariah311

Warm weather starting issue
« on: April 07, 2021, 06:43:31 PM »
Just bought a black 2015 Concours 14 a month ago with 8,000 miles on it and I'm absolutely in love with the bike. It's an amazing ride. I'm a mechanic by trade (not a bike mechanic specifically but worked on my own quite a bit) and I've done the very basic maintenance so far except the air filter but I've ordered a new one.

So the issue I had today after leaving work at 3:30pm in Cleveland with a temp around 80 F (bike sitting in full sun all day unfortunately) was that I went to start the bike while putting on my gear and it cranked over, sounded like it caught, then died. It did this two more times before starting with a little bouncy idle then was fine. I was wanting to get the opinion from people that are much more familiar with this bike/engine on what to look at first. I was planning to check battery/connections and test whether or not the tank isn't venting properly while sitting in the sun tomorrow, weather permitting, by opening the cap to see if it's got higher pressure in it. If it does, then I'd go towards the canister (assuming it has one since it's newer). I do know that the previous owner dropped it on it's right side based on the light-ish scratching on the lower fairing so maybe it's partially plugged? The bike doesn't ever stall or stumble no matter how long I run it but I don't know if this bike would act like that with a partially plugged canister though. I'm also thinking that it could just be gunk that's built up from ethanol gas that's worked loose from the cleaner I put in the tank or winter gas that's still hanging around in the area as we're just now warming up evaporating too fast causing the issue.

I have also noticed that the warm idle is closer to 1000 rpm so I need to turn that up as recommended and could also be a contributing factor.